Thank you for joining us, Ron! You recently collaborated with Ferrel D. Moore to publish The Jesus Road II. How did the idea for Waiting, which is your contribution, come about?

Ron: I always look to science fiction because the freedom to ask what if is always there. I did some research into AI a few months back, so that was still in my mind and wondered how it might work if the programming was limited to the Bible. Would AI do all it could within the programming to live as God wanted us to live. And if it did, what an example that might be for us.

Nicola: In The John Murphys, Murphy the robot says, “Every thought I have, every conclusion I arrive at is measured against one fundamental concept. ‘Humans are the pinnacle of creation.’ They are the image of their Creator. Their choice to not behave as such does not negate their existence as such.”

No matter how perfect robots get they will never replace humans in God’s heart because it is not perfection He is looking for. How much of yourself and personal experiences did you put into the characters?

Ron: For Waiting I put myself in Gene’s (papa) place. I certainly don’t have the ability to create such a thing, but thought, how would I feel if I could. If I had created something as an example of my memory, how far would I go to protect that memory?

Nicola: And Waiting is your answer!

Read more at MicAndPen

Leave a comment